Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-06-2016, 05:46 PM   #1
Unregistered

Hello from Los Angeles, CA

Hello everyone!

I am a college student looking to get back into photography. A couple of years back, I started out with a K100D Super, and now I'm trying to make photography more of a persistent hobby instead of just on vacations and stuff. In particular, I am interested in landscape and long-exposure stuff. I'm also learning how to use Lightroom with RAW, instead of just using JPEG right out of the camera.

Currently, I do not have any gear besides the K100D Super and kit 18-55mm lens, both of which I'm planning to give to a sibling. My main complaints with the K100D Super are the slow autofocus and poor low-light performance. Would I be good staring off with a K-3 II and 16-85mm lens? It's kind of pricey, but if it's worth it, then I won't have an issue buying it.

Thanks!

06-06-2016, 08:44 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Welcome!

I do not own the K-3II, but do have the 16-85, which I can recommend. Your projected purchase looks like a great avenue of approach.

Good luck.
06-06-2016, 08:47 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by tediscool310 Quote
Hello everyone!

I am a college student looking to get back into photography. A couple of years back, I started out with a K100D Super, and now I'm trying to make photography more of a persistent hobby instead of just on vacations and stuff. In particular, I am interested in landscape and long-exposure stuff. I'm also learning how to use Lightroom with RAW, instead of just using JPEG right out of the camera.