Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-17-2016, 07:13 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Happy to read the opinions

I am new to Pentax Forums. I have been a Canon user since 1968. I have many of those lenses and bodies. However, this new Pentax K1 seems to have a lot of features that I really want and can not get from Canon. I have spent days gathering information and opinions about K1. What I want this camera body for is outdoor macro work. I believe that I can do low angle photography much more easily with the swing out LCD back. At 72 years old it is more difficult for me to get down flat onto the ground, take a picture, then get back up again. I have used external monitors with my Canons, but that creates more problems all by itself. I am just about ready to purchase this K1 with a 100mm macro lens. It is in my "shopping basket" at Adorama for the last two days while I ensure myself that this camera will live up to my expectations. Anybody with a lot of experience doing macro work with K1 please share some ideas with me.
Is it possible to magnify the view on the LCD screen before the shutter is released?

06-17-2016, 08:42 AM   #2
Pentaxian

What kind of macro are you talking about? I mean how small is small in your world? What kind of subject matter are you talking about? And what kind of 'zoom' are you looking for 1:1 or what?

As a whole for what I would think you simply can't go wrong for the situation you've described. I think some other brands offer more powerful dedicated macro lenses that go beyond 1:1 but if that will do you lens wise I don't think you will ever find anything better. I am not saying that because I own Pentax I am just saying between the WR and the design and the WR lens you could technically sit indian style on the ground and put your camera in the dirt without fear.