Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-16-2016, 08:16 AM   #1

Hello- New here!

Hi everyone,
My name is Amanda. I'm a hobby photographer who loves learning about all things photography! I purchased a K-50 last year and quickly got the 50mm 1.8 prime lens. Now that i have an almost one year old, I'm realizing it's time to upgrade my lens! I've been reading a lot on what most people "graduate" to and I think I'm leaning towards the 55mm 1.4 DA*. I'll be posting in the lens forum soon if I can't make a final decision!

I'm excited to learn form all the experts here!

Amanda

07-16-2016, 08:25 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
welcome to our little dysfunctional but supportive family
07-16-2016, 08:32 AM   #3
csa
Loyal Site Supporter

Amanda, Welcome to the Forum! This is a place where members are very happy to assist others with any questions you may have. How wonderful that you have a one year old; that alone will give you so many opportunities to take photos, and hopefully share some with us here!

Thanks for becoming a member here, it's appreciated!
07-16-2016, 08:37 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

Hi Amanda - welcome to the forums, great to have you along for the ride

An alternative to your lens upgrade would be to buy an additional lens. The DA50 f/1.8 is very good optically (especially if you ensure that AF is fine tuned - important for close range shots at wide apertures), so unless you really need the 2/3rds stop extra light and/or shallower depth of field at the same field of view, you might get more from adding a second focal length to your kit - possibly a 35mm or 70mm, for instance? Just a thought...

Last edited by BigMackCam; 07-16-2016 at 08:45 AM.
07-16-2016, 09:00 AM   #5

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by BigMackCam Quote
Hi Amanda - welcome to the forums, great to have you along for the ride