Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-01-2016, 05:23 AM   #1

New to dSLR photography, some K-50 questions

Hi everyone,

I'm a total newbie to dSLR photography, so after having done a bit of shooting the last couple of weeks, I have some (actually quite a few) questions about the Pentax K-50. All help is greatly appreciated.

I'm having some difficulties getting good handheld pictures in lower light settings, f.e. indoors and cloudy days. Regarding that, there are a few things I'm uncertain about:

- What's the maximum ISO level you would recommend using? Am I correct in assuming higher ISO-levels are less disruptive for portrait photography than for landscape photography?
- What's the maximum shutter time you tend to use? 1/focal length? Is the shake reduction helpful? I feel it doesn't do much for me. Is there a good way to see what it does?
- Could you give me a numerical example of a good setting for a landscape shot on a cloudy day on 24mm? (i.e. F-value, shutter time and ISO) All this talk about aperture block has gotten me nervous whether the exposure is working correctly.

And a few general K-50 questions:

- Seeing all these razor sharp pictures posted, I was wondering how much sharpening is done by everyone. The Samsung Gallery app on my Samsung Tab S2 really sharpens K-50 unedited jpegs. On Google photos these same jpegs don't look anywhere near as good, but perhaps this is just because it doesn't take advantage of the OLED screen's capabilities. I've been doing a little Lightroom on the corresponding RAW's which does make them better, but I'm wondering how much editing in general everyone feels is required.

Thanks in advance, Steven.

Also, because pictures say more than words, here's something you don't see everyday. It's a sad picture, but it was quite amazing to see such a magnificent creature up close:

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-50  Photo 
08-01-2016, 01:20 PM   #2
Site Supporter