Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-19-2016, 09:39 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Greetings from Florida's Space Coast

Hello, fellow Pentaxians! I've had a Super Program since the 1980's, then Optio S4i/S5i units in the early 2000s which I used for underwater photography in the factory dive housing to complement my scuba hobby. Just recently got a K-30 after much consideration, and am just learning it. I'm a rank amateur photographer and don't pretend to be anything else, and am probably more generally suited to point-n-shoots like my beloved S5i, but then there's that occasional shot where I need a little more control and flexibility... like capturing the nighttime rocket launches from Kennedy Space center, just a couple miles from my front door!

08-19-2016, 10:09 PM   #2
Closed Account

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by FritzCat66 Quote
like capturing the nighttime rocket launches from Kennedy Space center, just a couple miles from my front door!

Hi FritzCat66. Welcome to the Pentax forums. You have been with Pentax a long time !! I would like very much to see some of those rocket launch images soon. Good to have you here.
08-20-2016, 12:05 AM   #3

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hey :-)

Cool site, with lots of great information
08-20-2016, 12:58 AM   #4
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

Hello and welcome to the forums - great to have you with us

The K-30 can act very much like a point-and-shoot in auto mode, but if you persevere with learning all it can do, I think you might get bitten by the DSLR bug Once you start taking control of your photography, you'll be amazed at what can be achieved - and we're here to help if you get stuck

08-20-2016, 06:59 AM   #5
Pentaxian

Welcome to the forums. The rocket launches must be interesting to see and take pictures of.
08-20-2016, 07:33 AM   #6
Otis Memorial Pentaxian