Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-14-2007, 11:16 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Hello from Ottawa

Hi! I've been reading these forums for the past few days, after picking up my K110D and I have to say I've learned quite a bit - tonnes of great info here!

I've been a shutterbug since my childhood in Cuba, where I had an early 70's Chaika II (still have it ). Gave up photography for a long time after I came to Canada, and then picked it up again a few years ago, with cheap digital P & S cameras. I had been wanting a DSLR for a long time, but as a college student could not afford it, and after I graduated my first priority was to save up enough money to visit family in Cuba, whom I hadn't seen in almost a decade! (Just got back from that trip last month). The fact that I've been bitten by the guitar bug this summer also seemed to assure a longer wait before owning a DSLR....

...well, a couple of nights ago I was browing the Futureshop website, and saw that they had the Pentax K110D with 18-55mm kit lens at $579 (regular price $699 CAD). I had never heard of this camera before, but after some research it seemed like a steal for the price. Great reviews, backwards compatibility with a lot of older lenses which can be found cheap second hand, ability to use AA batteries, and SD memory cards which I have from my old cameras. The fact that the 110 doesn't have an image stabilization mechanism is fine by me - I have a tripod.

So I decided, what the hell, my credit card has not had a workout in a while. Stopped by the store on my way to work, and noticed they had an open box unit.In the end I walked away with it for $499 .