Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-12-2016, 10:44 PM   #1

Long Time 35MM/DSLR Newbie to MF: Need ADVICE

Can you offer me some advice? I am new to the MF world, after 48 years with films and about 12 overlapped with digital SLs. (Up to Nikon d2x and Canon d5 Mark III. - lots and lots of lenses.)

I decided to move up to MF for a trip that I hope becomes a publication piece, and just bought a mint demo 645Z and 75 mmm dfa 2.8 lens

I am planing to take the 645Z on the NZ trip, and am planning to add a couple more lenses for the trip before I go. This will encompass everything from helicopter shots of waterfalls to epic trail hikes, meaning I will need some flexibility to consider weight and sheer packing limitations. I'm in an unusual spot... I have the HB x1d on order, but have no way of knowing if it will come with its lenses by mid January. So, I bought the 645 to use in case the HB doesn't show, and might sell it afterwards either way.

I am accustomed to using stepped zooms to work throught he focal lengths, with a couple of prime lenses for those perfect setups. So I figured I'd try to buy some good used glass and resell when done - if I buy right it will be cheaper than long-term rental for sure, unless the market totally falls out of bed.

In short, are there zooms that are both AF and sufficient quality to cover the range from wide to decent tele and aren't crushingly expensive? I'd say in 35mm terms (I'm going to have to adjust my thinking i know ) from 28mm to 300mm? Keeping in mind I hope to re-sell them when the HB shows up and I have had the time to familiarize myself with it. Any help would be appreciated!!

11-12-2016, 11:40 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums