Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
12-09-2016, 11:57 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Hello from New Orleans

Hi everyone, I'm a chef by trade and decided to give photography another try. I took two photography classes in high school using a ME Super with K series 50mm f1.2 and 200mm f4 lenses given to me from my uncle, another Pentax user. I lost interest a year or so after graduating and put it in a closet at my mom's house. Just recently, I decided I wanted to give it another go and since both lenses I had before would fit the newer cameras I decided to stick with Pentax.
So I did some research and decided on the K-S2. I went to my mom's house to get my old camera and lenses only to find that the only thing left in my camera bag was the 200mm lens and filters. My mom told me a few years ago one of my cousins wanted to try photography and she gave him the camera. A cousin who is now in rehab, so I knew that lens was long gone. While I was livid, it didn't deter me from sticking with Pentax.
I found a great deal on Amazon for the KS-2 body and the DA 50mm f1.8. After checking out, I realized the lens was out of stock and the next cheapest dealer on amazon was $30 more, so I just figured I'd wait it out. After about a week with no update on when the lens would be restocked, I discovered this forum and all of the great lens reviews. I spent the next week scouring the internet for a few of the cheaper lenses. Low and behold my uncle had a friend who was selling all of his Pentax lenses because he switched over to Canon. I finally met up with him today and ended up cancelling the back ordered lens right there and bought a FA 50mm f1.7 and a F 35-70mm f3.5-4.5 for $150.
Sorry for the long post and I look forward to learning more from this great community.

This was the first picture I snapped with the FA 50mm f1.7 when I got home.

1/100 f2.5 ISO 1600

12-10-2016, 12:22 AM   #2
PEG Moderator