Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
12-19-2016, 07:32 AM   #1

It's been awhile

I come here frequently to read updates on Pentax products, but it's been a long time since I've left a post. So, here it goes. I've been using Pentax cameras for many years, I'm on my 4th Pentax DSLR,and my wife and I belong to a great camera club here in Williamsburg, VA, where we are the only users of Pentax cameras. We have published pros, and advance photographers in the club. I'm almost the latter; but cycling is my main hobby as I've been a competitive cyclist for many years, and use to build custom bikes.

About a month ago I made the plunge to the K1 and the 28 - 105 mm lens, quite a learning curve. The first thing I noticed after taking a few shots are the great IQ and resolution, just remarkable. My K5 tends to over saturate the reds, but the K1 shots are just like looking at the live scene. Intend to try astro photography as I have a pro willing to help me.

Yesterday, I D/L a free trail of Corel Afershot Pro 3, and yes, it doesn't support the K1 DNG as stated on this forum. I notified Corel and made out a request for support as I hope others have done, maybe they will do it if they get enough requests.

Registration remains a problem as Pentax's new website really doesn't work, it takes your input, but not sure where it goes after that. I spoke with a rep in Atlanta (they moved there from CO), and he took down my registration info and said he would get back to me this week. Also, the disc that came with the camera that contains Pentax's Digital Camera Utility 5 had to be updated as it won't display my files in the Browser, still doesn't work, but I found a work around by cut/paste in the target to my files.

It seems Pentax has a lot of catching up to do with their new product line, hopefully their support will grow in this country.