Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-16-2017, 09:00 AM   #1

Hello! Should I keep my K-50???

Hi everyone! Excited to be a part of the community!. I'm a complete novice and am looking to start my photography hobby with some classes. With that being said, maybe we didn't do enough research on our first DSLR. Ont he forums here, it appears that there is a serious problem with the K/30/50. Something with the aperture mechanism. We just received our K/50 from Amazon and wanted to get anyone's opinion on if we should return and purchase another Pentax or another camera. The camera will be used for outdoor photography here in central Florida on a hobby basis. Our should we just take our chances with the warranty if something goes south? Thanks for any input!!!

01-16-2017, 09:39 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Its a small % of K50s that are affected.....if you use the new 55-300plm it doesn't matter, and lenses prior to the DA series have a manual aperture ring that you can adjust.

Theres a thread on here how to fix the problem IF it occurs,as well.

K50 is great value for $$$$.
01-16-2017, 10:08 AM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I think that's a pretty good camera. I would only return it if it starts to develop problems. You have warranty, right?
Also, remember that a DSLR is not forever. Technology is quickly evolving, so in some years you will likely be buying a new one anyway. The K-50 is a good place to start and learn, has lots of functions, looks cool, good viewfinder,..

People who have a faulty camera come to the forum, which can give a false impression that everyone has a problem. But there are plenty of people who aren't complaining about the K-50, who are just out there happily snapping away.
01-16-2017, 10:32 AM   #4
amateur dirt farmer
Loyal Site Supporter

welcome to the forum!