Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-22-2017, 03:59 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Hello

I am a hobby photographer, Studied photography at college when I was younger (back in the 70's). Was a 35mm film user (used to do own developing) until the early 90's when work took me in a different direction and photography got moth balled. Still finding my feet in the digital world. Started off with a Cannon DSLR about 18 months ago and learnt quite a bit but never really happy with it. Have just acquired a Pentax K100D Super and it has fuelled the enthusiasm I used to have

It just feels right, I enjoy using it and the picture quality is great straight from the camera. Think my Canon gear will be going on Ebay to fund purchasing a new Pentax

Software I use for processing is mainly Darktable - I don't use windows, I use Linux instead

01-22-2017, 04:34 PM   #2
Closed Account

Hi from Australia Tony. Welcome to the Pentax forums, and Pentax equipment. Good to have you here.
01-22-2017, 04:48 PM   #3
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

Hi Tony, and welcome from another Brit... good to have you with us

The K100D Super was (and remains) an excellent camera. I have a Samsung GX-10 (which is a Pentax K10D in different clothes) from the same era, and I love the images it produces. That said, if you do decide to spring for a new(er) Pentax camera at some point, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised by the improvements in resolution, dynamic range, high ISO noise and AF performance. None of these will make anyone a better photographer, but they can make a significant difference in the end result.

I'd be interested to learn more from you on your Linux experiences. I run Windows 10, but I'm increasingly interested in setting myself up with a parallel Linux installation and - at some point in the future, perhaps - moving over to Linux as my main OS.

Looking forward to your involvement here
01-22-2017, 05:56 PM - 2 Likes   #4