Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-20-2017, 02:45 PM   #1
Forum Member

Thinking of Coming back to Pentax after years of shooting Canon

Hi all,

My first film SLRs were we Pentax (MV-1, ME Super, K1000) but then I moved to Nikon film for while and finally settled on Canon which I've been shooting for the past 20 years. I've been shooting a Canon 70D for the past 3 years, but want to move up to a FF camera. The K1 seems to be the perfect camera for the subjects I like to shoot (Landscape, Architecture, Night shots/astrophotography).

12 years ago I bought my first DSLR the Canon 20D, only to have the 20dA (astronomical version) come out six months later and I'd like to avoid that happening again. So this leads me to a couple of questions.

1: is there a successor to the K1 on the horizon in the next 6 months or so? If so I'd rather hold off till it comes out.

2: I'd like a wide angle lens that works with the K1 and am considering the Rokinon 14mm but if there's an older film lens that would work as well I'd love to hear about it.

Thanks

03-20-2017, 02:53 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter

No successor anytime soon for k1 (years from now). Wide angle zoom would be the new DFA 15-30mm f2.8. As well I think Irix makes a 15mm as well.
03-20-2017, 02:54 PM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Craigbob Quote
Hi all,

2: I'd like a wide angle lens that works with the K1 and am considering the Rokinon 14mm but if there's an older film lens that would work as well I'd love to hear about it.

Thanks
All Pentax K-mount film-era lenses will fit (it's a major marketing tool which apparently failed yet again :-)
03-20-2017, 03:04 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi and welcome back to Pentax,

To answer your questions....
QuoteQuote:
1: is there a successor to the K1 on the horizon in the next 6 months or so? If so I'd rather hold off till it comes out.