Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version 9 Likes Search this Thread
04-09-2017, 09:10 AM   #1
Banned

Hi, I am new in this forum? what is the main think before buy a slr camera.

what is the main think before buy a slr camera? my budget is under $500. I am also new in photography . So need some information about camera. which camera is good for beginner? and which feature is must for a beginner photography. don't lough with my question!!

thanks and wait for reply

04-09-2017, 09:21 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
What's your goal? What do you plan to shoot?
04-09-2017, 09:42 AM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Izajpro,

It's just my opinion but pick up a simple used camera that has full manual controls.

It will take you a long time to really learn manual and it will require a lot of reading and study but in the end you will be a better photographer.

Your camera should also be able to record photos in RAW format.

Getting a starter camera doesn't need to be expensive.

Your lenses will ultimately be much more important.
04-09-2017, 09:46 AM - 1 Like   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

The primary reason someone buys a DSLR over other camera types is the ability to change lenses. So that the same camera body can be useful in many different situations. If you do not plan on buying additional lenses then looking at a smaller camera with an integral zoom can provide a good experience.

That said the things to look for in a DSLR are:
1) Quality of the camera build, how tough it will be and will it last
2) Ergonomics, how does it fit and feel in your hand. Are the buttons easy to reach and logically laid out
3) Availability of the lenses that you want. Having a hundred lenses is unimportant if you only need 1 or 2 or 3 as long as those are available