Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-06-2017, 12:39 PM   #1

Hello From Pacific Grove California

Greetings all, I am an amateur photographer and collector of Vintage and Antique Film Cameras including several Pentax SLRs, I am in the market for a Digital format that maximizes the potential of my MF Lens inventory. Super glad to find this resource, such a wealth of knowledge and experience here.

05-06-2017, 01:38 PM   #2
Pentaxian At Large
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome! I remember Pacific Grove fondly from my time at DLI, so many beautiful places for photography!

You will get a ton of opinions, but I've used many SLR-era M42, and K mount lense on the K-5, K-30, both crop sensor/APS-C DSLRs, and the K-1 full frame camera, and they all work incredibly well. The APS-C camera add a factor of 15 to all lenses, so a 50mm gives a view like that of a 75mm. The K-1, being a full frame camera, will give you a view that is the same as an SLR, so a 50mm is a 50mm.

Whether you choose APS-C, or the K-1, you'll find that the sensors on both DSLRs show off the lenses' clarity incredibly well. If you have the budget, I recommend the K-1, but if you want to spend less, the APS-C K-3 is the current flagship, and it gets high marks from its users here on the forum. The K-5 is a great camera, I wouldn' hesitate to buy one used here at the PF marketplace of you want a low priced entry into the DSLR format.

I look forward to seeing your pictures.
05-06-2017, 02:03 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum! I am well acquainted with PG. My mom lived there for several years. As a kid, I spent a couple summers there, including once living at what is now the Steinbeck museum (when it was just a house) at 222 Central.

This looks like the other time. Can't remember the address, which I am sure is buried in the family history.
Name:  BTYR0734.jpg
Views: 81
Size:  96.1 KB