Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 27 Likes Search this Thread
10-13-2017, 11:18 AM   #1

New member - K3 bound and needing advice!

I am interested in buying a new or used K3. I believe my mind is made up on the body style, but looking for lenses...I am brand new to these types of cameras in general and while not entirely new to photography, I def need to brush up on all this terminology!

Basically a total noob so Hi!

10-13-2017, 11:25 AM   #2
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome

I like my K 3

Pentax K-3 Review - Introduction | PentaxForums.com Reviews

I chose it over the K 3 II because I wanted the on board flash

and I could get GPS function via the accessory when I wanted it.

Pentax O-GPS1 GPS Unit Review - Introduction | PentaxForums.com Reviews

here is a tool which allows you to compare various Pentax DSLR side by side

Pentax K-3 vs. Pentax K-3 II vs. Pentax K-5 II - Pentax Camera Comparison - PentaxForums.com

go up to " Lenses " for info on various Pentax and third party lenses

do your research and ask questions plenty of folks here willing to help out
10-13-2017, 11:29 AM - 1 Like   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Wildbearfeet Quote
I am interested in buying a new or used K3. I believe my mind is made up on the body style, but looking for lenses...I am brand new to these types of cameras in general and while not entirely new to photography, I def need to brush up on all this terminology!

Basically a total noob so Hi!
What a fun time you have ahead of you.

First - do you have any inkling of the type(s) of photography you plan to engage in?
Second - do you envision yourself as using a zoom lens or a prime lens most of the time?
Third - do you plan to do your own post processing or let the camera do this for you and spit out jpgs?

Lastly - what do you think the budget is?

Now before you answer any of these here's my best advice: