Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-07-2017, 12:03 AM - 4 Likes   #1

Former Canon guy here, now all in with Pentax

Hello All,

I’ve been shooting with Canon SLR’s for 15 years and when it came time that I felt I needed to upgrade from my 5d mkll I decided it was time to switch systems since Canons sensors haven’t been able to keep up with Sony’s. I had considered the D850, but when I searched into it a little more and came across the K1 score in DxO labs I gave it some serious consideration.
Comparing it against the D850 and the 810 I felt the K1 just offered something really unique and it was obvious it was the best bang for the buck as well.

I went all in and ordered the Silver Edition with three lenses which should be arriving this afternoon. Really looking forward to it. A solidly built and sealed body, WiFi, built in gps, 300,000 cycle shutter, loads of tricks off that shifting sensor and IQ on par with the 810 and close to the 850. Oh, and a grand less than the 810.
I couldn’t resist, seems to me like the best value in FF DSLR’s out there.

Just discovered this forum while browsing for more info on the K1. Looks like a great bunch of people here.

Hello from New York.

11-07-2017, 12:17 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Well, welcome to you from Dorset UK!

I think we're honest enough here to admit that there are some things that both Canon and Nikon do better than Pentax, but none of them get it all right and, as you say, the K-1 has great IQ (tops them all in circumstances where pixel shift is possible) in a great value package - and Ricoh seem to be committing increasingly to top quality glass to go with that IQ and the many unique features of Pentax.

Enjoy! (you will )

Last edited by ffking; 11-07-2017 at 07:15 AM.
11-07-2017, 12:21 AM - 1 Like   #3
Closed Account

Photos: Gallery