Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-05-2018, 01:04 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Just Joined from Virginia

Hello, I am an amateur photographer with many years of experience with film cameras, including darkroom experience with black and white & infrared. I never got into color work in the darkroom, but I shot a lot of color film. I've had some experience with multiple formats up to 4 x 5 but mostly 35mm using Pentax SLRs. My photography hobby was interrupted by a 26 year career in the U.S. Navy as a steam propulsion plant engineer at both the enlisted and commissioned officer levels. I am now retired. For a long while I was limited to point and shoot digital, my most recent point and shoot was a Fuji HS-10. I just recently got back into using a Pentax K-x DSLR. I am considering a Pentax K-P or K-3 II (I've heard some bad comments about the K-P's grip not being very good.)

It is good to be here. I have a lot to learn - these digital cameras with their multiple menus, uber fast shutter speeds, huge ISO settings and other things are much more complex than the film SLRs I was used to,

I've rambled on enough - it is way late and way past my bed time.

My best regards to everyone in this forum!

Later,

Mike

05-05-2018, 01:09 AM   #2
Closed Account

Photos: Gallery
Hi from Australia Mike, and welcome to the Pentax forums. Good to have you as a member.
05-05-2018, 01:47 AM   #3
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
Welcome to the forum, enjoy all that you find here.
05-05-2018, 02:32 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Welcome to the Forum and feel free to ask questions. Generally we are pretty amiable sorts unless you want to know about the future of mirrorless cameras...

05-05-2018, 04:18 AM   #5
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome