Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-16-2018, 06:41 AM   #1

Hello new friends

Hi guys,

I am a professional portrait/wedding photographer. I currently have an Olympus E3 and E5. The E3 is a fabulous camera and I use it almost daily. However, my passion lies in long exposure photography. Not star trails or anything, just landscape-ish kind of stuff. I am looking into getting a Pentax to replace the E5. The E3 will stay with me because it is a wonderful camera to use and the pictures, for portraiture, are hard to beat.

I have quite a few M42 Takumar lenses that I treasure. Some of the best legacy glass ever made as far as I'm concerned and would use those in conjunction with a Pentax body with the aid of an adapter of course. I do most of my work with manual focus lenses. I guess I'm just old school like that.I do have a couple digital lenses that I use with the E3 when I shoot some weddings.

I guess my question is, what Pentax would be the best for me. I don't want to go Nikon or Canon. Pentax has been in my sights now for a while, so i hope for some help from actual users of the camera.

Thank you in advance!

05-16-2018, 09:46 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by mattyb Quote
Hi guys,

I am a professional portrait/wedding photographer. I currently have an Olympus E3 and E5. The E3 is a fabulous camera and I use it almost daily. However, my passion lies in long exposure photography. Not star trails or anything, just landscape-ish kind of stuff. I am looking into getting a Pentax to replace the E5. The E3 will stay with me because it is a wonderful camera to use and the pictures, for portraiture, are hard to beat.