Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-19-2018, 03:55 PM   #1

A newbie from New England...

This newbie is from the state of Vermont, that is! Hello to all you photographers, old & new alike.

Me.....I'm an older newbie!
My actual name is Steve, the user name Blackink, I still use that today because when I retired, I was a color and black & white printing press operator. Those days are gone!!! Weeeee........!

So my experience with cameras is with the old Polaroid cameras, some knowledge with basic 35mm film (boy, were those the days, eh?!?), and the camera on my LG Android phone-and I struggle using that sometimes!

I was gifted with an almost, and I mean almost, brand new Pentax K-50 digital camera from a friend of mine (see pics below), who needs my help every now and then, who felt it necessary to offer it to me for the volunteer work I did for him with his small engine repair business. This camera probably had 30 pictures taken on it when he gave it to me.

So talk about jumping right into the digital photography era with both feet, this camera will certainly do that to you! I have a BIG learning curve ahead of me, and that's just trying to learn how to operate it on Auto, forget about all the other settings this camera has. Compared to what I'm use to....this thing's a beast!!!

I've got a feeling I'll be using this Web site for references many, many times and asking for help who knows how many times.
I hope you all can be patient with me!!! Some of my questions may seem foolish at times but I'm going to ask them anyway!

So besides the printed owner's manual and the CD-Rom software and the K-50 body, I got 2 lenses: an 18-55mm lens and a 50-200mm lens. 2 UV filters: a 52mm filter and a 49mm filter.

Wish me luck....I'm going to need it. I'm not sure how the picture of the 2 lenses ended upside down, they're not like that on my PC....sorry about that!

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
LGL22C  Photo