Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
06-21-2018, 02:51 PM - 2 Likes   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Might have failed to do this.

I think when I found PentaxForums, I simply jumped right into the fray without any sort of introduction. So here goes...

My first name is John.

I've been a photographer of sorts-mostly amateur since the early 1970's. Shot for the school newspaper and yearbook. Worked in the school darkroom and scrounged equipment to set one up in a spare room in my parents' house. Bought a series of Pentax Cameras that are now in storage. Went away to school and shot for that newspaper and yearbook. Came back home and continued college locally while working as a stringer for a local newspaper. Worked in their darkroom. Took time to start and raise a family. Acquired a ZX10 about the time my oldest started middle school. Shot a lot of flowers and bugs. Bought one of the first *ists'. Shot school events and sports as an overactive parent. Bought two K10 to continue that silliness up to the last kid (have three) graduated.

Dabbled in both wedding and product photography for a few years; shot more life event type stuff. Got paid sometimes. Got credit in the store for shooting their seeds and seedlings. And rakes and shovels.

Built and expanded a home darkroom developing and printing B&W, Color and Color slides along the way. All that stuff is now in storage. All digital now. All the usual stuff to do it mostly right. What gets printed is sent out to a local outfit. Counted boxes and albums and old hard drives and estimated there is 750,000 to a million images in my collection (unpleasant mess). Someday I may actually figure out and understand what photography is all about.