Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-30-2018, 07:42 AM   #1

Hello, I am from the UK, I am a student, here is my introduction

I started getting interested in photography a couple of years ago. I'm studying art and mostly I paint. Whilst I haven't tended to use photos as references for painting taking photographs has been teaching me a lot about ways of seeing: composition, contrast etc.

I've been taking film photographs, I tend not to use computers, I have had very little use for digital images other than the occasional e-mail, so I have stuck with film. Although perhaps one day I will venture into digital as there are obviously many advantages.

My first camera (around 20 years ago) was a slim cuboid which took a 110 cartridge (I didn't use it very much, I was an impatient child). My second camera was a point and shoot digital camera with which I took many terrible holiday photos (lots of headless portraits). My third camera was my dad's old Minolta x-300, which I lost last year. My current camera, which I like very much, is a Chinon CA-4.

I don't own any Pentax cameras, I have a handful of first and third party Pentax K mount lenses which I use on the Chinon. I am looking for an all manual camera (tired of changing ASA and forgetting), I have heard nice things about the MX. I ordered an ME Super (for its lens) with a 'sealed' battery compartment from ebay recently, if I can get that to work I'll see if I can get used to the buttons, but if not I'll resume my hunt for a reasonably priced MX.

I've been lurking here for a while looking at the lens reviews. I'll write some reviews once I feel competent enough to know what's up.

I aspire one day to take good photographs (at least more than 2 or 3 per 36exp) and expand into the realms of medium and large format photography. I'd also like to do some pinhole photography and maybe some experimental things.