Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-14-2018, 07:20 AM - 1 Like   #1

Photos: Albums
Greetings from NYC

Hello everyone,

I recently changed systems from Canon back to Pentax after being away for many years. Recently acquired a K1 Mark II with the 28-105 "kit" lens, a Tamron 70-200, Tamron 90mm macro, Irix 15mm, and Pentax 50mm 1.4 prime.

My very first SLR was given to me about 28 years ago by my dad. It was a Pentax ME Super. I learned the fundamentals of photography on that camera and used it for about 10 years off and on before moving to medium format. My MF days were spent mostly with Mamyia RB and RZ bodies. I still have an old Arax 6x6 that I kept for posterity. Once digital took off, I went Canon and remained with them until August 3rd - the day I traded my 5D in and Canon glass for a Pentax K1 Mark II.

Surprisingly, moving to a completely new system didn't require much retraining but I'm still learning the odds, ends, and quirks of my new body. Anyway, thanks for reading. If you're interested in seeing some of my photos, they're available on my website at www.jamespaulsarte.com

Best,
James

08-14-2018, 08:34 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to Pentax forums. I also have a K-1 II. It is excellent and I am enjoying it.
08-14-2018, 09:41 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Hi and welcome to the forum!
08-14-2018, 11:39 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Welcome. Being in NYC makes it easy to visit B&H Photo to see Pentax gear.

I'm curious why you picked K-1 instead of the more obvious Canon upgrade of a 5D mark-whatever. Where was Canon coming up short for you?

08-14-2018, 12:10 PM   #5

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by DeadJohn Quote
Welcome. Being in NYC makes it easy to visit B&H Photo to see Pentax gear.

I'm curious why you picked K-1 instead of the more obvious Canon upgrade of a 5D mark-whatever. Where was Canon coming up short for you?