Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-21-2018, 05:00 AM   #1

Hi everybody

I am relatively new to this forum, which I have been lurking on for a while but never engaged in so far.

I am a sociology student from Italy, 25yo, film shooter out of necessity: I have basically got no money (studying costs a bloody lot) so when I eventually gave myself up to my photography yen I had to start out with what I got—i.e. a brilliant ME Super with a decent lens set, all from my granddad. As my budget has always been meagre, I had to choose either to sell my ME Super and keep on putting money by to eventually buy a DSLR (Pentax, ça va sans dire), yet without shooting at all, or to invest my paltry sum in film and start learning on my granddad’s relic. As the former option would have been too disheartening at first, I settled for the latter, unapologetically (I’m in love with my ME Super) 😀

So, those already rolling their eyes expecting another diehard film hipster, don’t worry: I am not here to moralise about Kodak or Ilford being superior and the like. I just reckon starting with film is heaps more fruitful than with digital—or maybe it’s just me who’s put a little more effort than my pals with DSLRs 😆

The fact is I now need a DSLR for two main reasons:

a) for all its beauty, working exclusively with film will shortly cost me my kidney. I have been asked to shoot a friend’s wedding, which is going to tot up to some 300 euros’ worth of film stock only. For my soon-married friend that will be my present; but what if I made up my mind to shoot weddings, with an average non top-pro photographer’s fee being in Italy around 500€? Not to mention accessories or courses.

b) a DSLR is definitely more versatile.