Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
08-28-2018, 10:08 PM - 1 Like   #1

hate this thing-so far

Big Tim from Maine, long time user of Pentax film cameras, KX, MX, LX as well s assorted med. format cameras. Now with Pentax K-50 and scared to death of it. Hoping granddaughter and Pentax Forums will help. Recently obtained the DA 16-45mm (seems to be well-liked, why did they kill it?) and DA 55-300 ( not WR) That should get me by as I wrestle with this.

08-28-2018, 10:41 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Hi, Big Tim, and welcome to Pentax Forums from Tasmania, Australia.

I’ve been shooting Pentax cameras since 1972, so my transition to digital was early in their history. Hate will turn to love, if you approach things in a slow but steady way. You can shoot with full manual control, just like with your old film bodies, or you can leave in on Auto/Program mode while you get the hang of it, and let the camera take care of focus, shutter speed and aperture settings. Shoot JPEG until you feel confident enough with post-processing to tackle shooting in RAW.

The really nice thing is that you don’t need to wait until you’ve finished the roll of film before you see the results. You’ll be fine. Relax and ask for as much advice as you like. The members here are friendly and helpful.
08-28-2018, 11:35 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

G'day mate and welcome to the forum
08-29-2018, 12:25 AM   #4
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
QuoteOriginally posted by Big Tim Quote
hate this thing-so far
Welcome to the forum, when and if you get stuck, just yell out in the appropriate part of the forum and you could easily be overwhelmed by the volume of replies.

08-29-2018, 01:28 AM   #5