Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 34 Likes Search this Thread
09-30-2018, 03:07 PM   #1

Pentax k5 advice

Hi everyone, greetings from Northern Ireland. I've just picked up a k5 and a few different lenses. Just wondering what sort of lens would I need to take photos at football (soccer) games? Also for landscapes. I'm a total novice so please dumb it down for me.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
FRD-L09  Photo 
09-30-2018, 03:15 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Can you list the lenses you have there? I suspect the three at front are all Sigmas, and is the one immediately in front of the K5 a Pentax lens? Whatever the case, for sports you'll probably be wanting a long zoom, so at first that one to the left which looks like it might be a 70-300mm.. might be OK, but I dont know much about Sigma lenses. I have the Tamron equivalent, but better than both might be a Pentax DA55-300. You'll need wide for landscapes, looks like you have an 18-55mm lens there, and that would be fine. As you're just starting out, I'd recommend sticking it on auto and then checking what the camera decided was good, for the shots that look good, once you get them uploaded to your computer.

Others will have other opinions
09-30-2018, 03:20 PM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Gewi6410 Quote
Just wondering what sort of lens would I need to take photos at football (soccer) games? Also for landscapes.
You will get lots of different answers because each photographer has different preferences. There is no 'right' or 'wrong' lens, just what takes the pictures you like. Best way to tell that is take your camera and lenses out and do some test shots, see what works (for you).