Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-08-2018, 02:50 PM   #1

Hello from the snow capital of New York

Hello all,
I am just an amateur who has been using a K100D for the past 12 years photographing private art and antique collections, all kinds of images for web pages and thousands of travel photos. Yes the old K100D produces acceptable web page images but alas, the old girl isn't focusing so well any more so I am looking to buy a new K70 or KP. I love low light and street photography so I am here to listen to the latest wisdom. Hope we talk soon.

Dennis

(hint about snow capital): A city with a NFL team that lost the Super Bowl four times.

11-08-2018, 03:16 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

"Wide Right" and welcome to the forum!

Phil.
11-08-2018, 03:29 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks Phil.

Wide-Right and NO-Goal are burn't into the area's soul.
11-08-2018, 04:53 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Welcome from Rochester. For what it's worth, the Tug Hill Plateau snowfalls on the east end of Lake Ontario make the snowfall contest between Buffalo, Syracuse and Rochester look pretty lame. They usually have double what the "winner" gets.

11-08-2018, 07:19 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I do not own either camera, I own a K-5. Both of your choices look very good, so it's a matter of how much you want to spend. I'd go for the KP, personally, it seems a bit more rugged.

If you like street shooting, consider getting a DA 40mm XS "pancake" lens. Combined with the compactness of either body, you have a great street phtoto combo. Since you will likely be out in rain and snow, consider buying the 18-135 weather resistant zoom lens. You can usually find used copies of both lenses on PF, and the sellers here are honest.