Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-12-2018, 03:44 AM   #1

Hello from Harrow, England!

Hi there!

I am currently living in Harrow, England (not exciting or exotic, I am aware.) But it is where I call home whilst I finish my third year of uni. Currently studying at Westminster university, doing a BA Film course, I am in my final year, soon (of 3).

I joined the forum initially to post a review about Robin Gowing, who recently did some fantastic service work on my camera, I am very very pleased indeed!

I wanted to introduce myself and admit that I am very very new to 35mm SLR cameras, but I absolutely love my 35mm camera and am infatuated with the art of taking celluloid pictures instead of digital ones. I hardly touch my DSLR now, unless it is related to the course!

(Just noticing that I started all the paragraphs with 'I'...haha oops ) and now again, I work in the Kodak Lab at Pinewood, it is a small wonderful team of 6 mainly, whom I consider to be my second family. It is recent, as I only started over summer after doing 2 weeks there but I love it. Not only do I prep the machine in the morning to test it before film rushes come in to be developed, but I also run the test myself and can determine whether or not the machine is good to go! Mainly though, my job title is 'Neg Assembler' as I assemble feature film rushes to be sent off to Pinewood post to be scanned.

Lastly, I would love to go into the film industry, with my passion (unsurprisingly) lying in cinematography. The end goal for me would be to become a Director of Photography and at the moment, I am currently in the pre-production stages of shooting a commercial at uni. It is part of the Kodak 16mm competition in which products are put forward and you have to make a 30 second commercial for one of them. Our idea is quite ridiculous! When it's done I can post the link for people to check it out !

Please say hello
Lauren <3

11-12-2018, 03:47 AM   #2