Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-03-2019, 12:38 AM   #1

Need information how to get focus pulse / distance information from camera

Dear all,

Let me introduce myself, I am a computer science student from Bina Nusantara University. I am researching in computer vision. I want to measure an object size using a camera. I need Focus Pulse information since it leads to knowing the distance between the object and the camera.
I visited Welcome to Pentax Hack but the information is rather old (2010). Is there any newer information on how to get/ hack Focus Pulse?

Thank you very much in advance for your help and attention.

warmest regards,
suryadi

01-03-2019, 08:47 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Some cameras (from Canon, and possibly others) will save the approximate subject distance directly in the EXIF, which I believe is what you need to carry out your calculations.

Unfortunately, Pentax cameras only report the distance categorically, e.g. "Near" or "Distant". Likewise, there is no way to extract the subject distance or focus setting information using tethering (AFAIK other brands do support this).

In any case, you will want to look at the data available in the EXIF. You can do so here (or, if working programmatically, execute exiftool on your local system):
Check Camera Shutter Count and Manufacture Date

You do get the focal length, aperture, and hyperfocal distance, which may allow you to estimate the actual distance using this formula:

formula - How to know or calculate depth of field of a photo from EXIF tags? - Stack Overflow

You also get a lens-specific focus index, so if you know which lens is being used, you may be able to get a ballpark distance after empirically profiling the lens. Good luck!

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)