Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-20-2019, 04:48 AM   #1

New member, new 645 shooter.

Hello all,
I am new in the neighborhood. I bought a 645 (original) about 6 weeks ago and recently got my first roll developed. I'm hooked.

I grew up using a Brownie Hawkeye Flash, and still use a working copy. I've always had a thing for 120 format film, which led me to the 645. I got my first film SLR in 1976, and stayed with film until my last Yashica FX-3 S2K broke about 10 years ago. For about 10 years, I chased photography down the rabbit-hole that is digital SLRs. About a year ago, I noticed that photography was something I just DID; it was no longer something I ENJOYED. It took me months to figure out what the problem was. In the end, it was digital photography itself. I sold off all of my Canon full frame digital gear and bought a few old Yashica and Contax bodies, and a variety of C/Y lenses. I kept the Canon APS-C gear and my complete range of APS-C zooms; they are necessary, and serve a purpose. My manual everything bodies and manual aperture/focus lenses bring me back to the heart of photography

So far, my 645 gear consists of an excellent-shape body, 45mm & 75mm lenses, and 280 flash. I am contemplating a 150mm f/3.5, but not sure I need it. Most of my 645 work will be landscapes, tripod mounted, and cable released. That said, I can't wait to try out the flash for some candids at the next family gathering.

Oh, just in case anyone is interested in the personal stuff, I am married (2nd time around), have two grown girls, 3 dogs, 7 cats, a parakeet, and tropical fish. I live on a farm just outside the tiny little nowhere town of Bourbon, Indiana. I spent 9 years in the US Army ('74-'83), retired after 28 years from the US Postal Service, and am currently working for a local Hospice as a registered nurse.

Looking forward to learning a lot on this forum, and hopefully I can contribute something of value, too.

TomS