Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
03-05-2019, 05:16 PM   #1

Hello from Ohio

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hi I’m new to photography and I’m just a hobbyist. I just purchased k-1 and HD PENTAX-D FA★50mmF1.4 SDM AW. K1 I got is around $1200 it’s used and shutter count is around 1700 and HD PENTAX-D FA★50mmF1.4 SDM AW is the new one around $996 I think it’s a good combination to begin with. Now saving money for HD PENTAX-DA★11-18mm F2.8ED DC AW. And one good macro lens and I should good for few years...

03-05-2019, 05:21 PM   #2
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

Welcome to the forums

Wow... new to photography and you bought a K-1 and D FA* 50/1.4?? That's some kit. Congratulations!

Regarding the DA*11-18, be aware that it's designed for APS-C crop-sensor format. You'd be better off with the full-frame D FA15-30

As for macro lenses, there's a few choices, but you're probably best looking at the D FA100/2.8 WR Macro. It's a tried and trusted lens with many fans, and for good reason
03-05-2019, 05:51 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by BigMackCam Quote
Welcome to the forums

Wow... new to photography and you bought a K-1 and D FA* 50/1.4?? That's some kit. Congratulations!

Regarding the DA*11-18, be aware that it's designed for APS-C crop-sensor format. You'd be better off with the full-frame D FA15-30

As for macro lenses, there's a few choices, but you're probably best looking at the D FA100/2.8 WR Macro. It's a tried and trusted lens with many fans, and for good reason