Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-19-2019, 04:43 PM - 1 Like   #1

Greetings all!

Hi everyone,

Hello from DC! I'm Chase. Thrilled to be a part of this community! I get my first DSLR tomorrow, a used K-70 with kit lens from KEH. I am so stoked! Ready to learn and share with you all.. I thought I would be going with a Nikon D3400 for the longest time but found Pentax and fell in love with the feature set. I plan to shoot mostly landscape and architectural photography and I also have a budding interest in astro and night work and the K-70 looks like it will suit me perfectly to start out.

03-19-2019, 05:37 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Dude, you sound exactly like me when I got my K-50! Our areas of interest are pretty much identical too. I also chose Pentax because of the awesome features that nobody else seemed to have, such as focus peeking, weather resistance, etc!

Anyway, welcome.

I am no expert but here is some completely unsolicited advice just in case it helps: the biggest lesson I have learned from my experiences with the k-50 is that photography should be done for yourself first. Take every shot with no intention of ahowing it to anyone... that way you take the shot that makes you happy. If it ends up being something you want to share, great, but that's just a bonus.

My second biggest lesson is that glass is very important. Get some good glass asap. People here can help you do that without breaking the bank. The kit lens will limit what you can achieve in some ways and could lead to frustration. I think my biggest mistake with the k-50 was not finding a way to get better lenses for so long and often feeling frustrated that my images lacked the x-factor that I was seeking.
03-19-2019, 05:41 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome aboard. Certainly a lot of architectural opportunities in DC! KEH is a great (local to me) company. Enjoy your new (to you) Pentax!