Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 7 Likes Search this Thread
03-21-2019, 12:12 PM   #1

New to Pentax and photography

Hello everyone I'm new to Pentax and photography. I'm just retired and looking to get away from point and shoot photography.. I just purchased a KS2 and I'm overwhelmed by all of the settings. Is there anywhere to get instructions on a good baseline of settings for my camera. I do not know where to start.

Thank you, Bruce

03-21-2019, 02:27 PM   #2
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Bruce D Quote
I'm just retired
Welcome, at least now you've got the time to really enjoy your photography.
03-21-2019, 02:40 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi Bruce. Welcome to the Forum.

There is no need to get overwhelmed. Leave the camera in P (or even green) mode for starters and just go out and take photos. Look critically at them and consider what you like about the results and what you could have done better. Look at other people's photos and do the same. Read a bit about the basics of the exposure triad (camera shutter speed, lens aperture and sensor ISO). They are the only settings you need to worry about for a while.

Chase good light. Get up early. Stay up late. The middle of the day is for lunch, not photography

Experiment. Fail. There's nothing to lose. That is one of the beauties of digital photography - you're not blowing good money on wasted film, developing, and printing.

Have FUN.
03-21-2019, 02:42 PM   #4
PJ1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Welcome to the Forums. Yes, the first time with a DSLR can be a bit daunting. However, we have access to some amazing resources on this site. A good plave to start would be the review of the K-S2 which you will find here: Pentax K-S2 Review - Introduction | PentaxForums.com Reviews