Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-28-2019, 12:44 PM   #1

Newbie Here

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hello everybody, I just took the plunge and moved into the DSLR ranks with a Pentax K - 70. I have been on a disability retirement for 20 years and I am largely confined to a wheelchair, though I can stand for short periods. I am also in need of my O2 tanks and so my base will be my Jazzy 1170 XL which is a workhorse. There are few trails that I cannot take, just need to be done before my O2 runs out 3 or so hours per bottle. I cannot get my chair to a beach sand, where there are steps, or where there are no bridges at least 3 feet wide.

I just bought a used Pentax K 70 DSLR off of Ebay with a claimed 1,758 shutter count. The kit supposedly comes with 5 lenses. They are --

1. Pentax 16mm –45mm – f/4 to f/22
2. Pentax 35mm f/2

3. Pentax 80mm – 200mm f/4.5 to f/32
4. Pentax 80mm – 320mm f/4.5 to f/38

5. Sigma EX 105 mm f/2.8 to f/32

Prior to this I had a Pentax SF 10 SLR that has now given up the ghost. I do not think it is worth fixing, is there anything I should pull off of it prior to trashing it? This older Kit had 2 Autofocus lenses.

6. Pentax 28 mm - 70 mm f/4 to f/22
7. Access 80 mm - 200 mm f/3.8 to f/32

I think that lenses 6 and 7 will work on my new camera, with Lens 6 being close to Lens 1 and Lens 7 being close to Lens 3, with Lens 7 being just a little faster even though it is older. Is there any problem connecting these Pentax SLR Lenses to my new Pentax DSLR Camera?

Also my kids got me a present about 30 years ago of a manual lens off of QVC. It is one of those low cost manual focus types with Pentax, Cannon, and Nikkon adapters. It is

8. QVC HQ Optics 500 mm F/8 Lens