Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-18-2019, 11:13 PM   #1

Hi there!

Found this forum when I started playing a round a bit more with my K S2, specially wondering about the autofocus issue I am having ( 1st DSLR, so thought it was "normal" for the auto focus to be continually hunting, until my husband got annoyed with how long it took me to take photos, started using it, & informed me, that this indeed was not normal!
Hoping to learn more about this camera, & figure out if a lens change will do the trick ( & get more hooked on photography along the way)

05-18-2019, 11:29 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi Debra

Welcome to the forum.
Which lens are you using? Inside (in the dark) or outside in sunlight?

Kind regards,
Mark
aotearoa
(New Zealand)
05-18-2019, 11:35 PM   #3

Original Poster
I am using the kit lens SMC DA L 1:4-5.6 18-50mm DC WR RE
when pressing the shutter button 1/2 way on AF mode, just get a "doo-doo-doo-doo" sound & the lens seems to move backwards & forwards.
05-19-2019, 12:06 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by DebraC Quote
I am using the kit lens SMC DA L 1:4-5.6 18-50mm DC WR RE
when pressing the shutter button 1/2 way on AF mode, just get a "doo-doo-doo-doo" sound & the lens seems to move backwards & forwards.
Thanks for that Debra.
In the dark, or in the light? How far from the object you're trying to focus on are you? What type of object are you trying to focus on?
Can you try to focus on something with a texture - not a blank wall - and let me know if it does it? I would recommend standing at least 1-2m away from the object you're trying to focus on.

Last edited by MarkJerling; 05-19-2019 at 12:25 AM.
05-19-2019, 01:41 AM   #5
Closed Account

Photos: Gallery
Welcome Debra.
05-19-2019, 02:01 AM - 1 Like   #6
Pentaxian