Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-24-2019, 07:55 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Long Time Pentax User, New Member here

Hello I am William living in Mississauga, Ontario, Canada. Photography has been a life long passion of mine introduced to me by my father when I was 5. I bought my first Pentax a Spotmatic II in 1973. Since then I acquired a number of screwmount Pentax cameras (34 of them including a 6x7 I bought in 1977) numerous lenses and accessories. I worked in the photographic industry from1975-2002. First for a photographic industrial supply house and the last 12 years with Polaroid Corp Pro/Business/Industrial Division. I had a colour darkroom that I used right up till 2002 along with my various Pentax Spotmatics.. After I left Polaroid I decided it was time for a complete career change and time to go completely digital (since 1996 I had dabbled with Polaroid's digital cameras).

After being a loyal Pentax user since 1973 the first digital camera I bought was a Minolta Dimage 5 in February 2002. I always felt I was missing something that I had with my Pentax systems but trudged on with the Minolta, not a bad camera at all......but as I went on I wanted a DSLR and I kept looking at what was out there and I always felt Pentax calling me back. Besides one of the beauties of Pentax is almost every lens and accessory I had from my Spotmatics could be used on a Pentax DSLR.

In late 2006 I was looking at my old Pentax cameras and thinking how I missed using them. So in December 2006 I made the plunge back into Pentax. I got a K110D with the 11-55mm DA lens and also bought a Pentax 70-300mm FAJ lens to go with it. Loved the camera and lenses right away. I also had the screw mount adapter and used a number of my SMC Takumar lenses as well.