Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
06-27-2019, 08:53 AM - 2 Likes   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Greetings from Europe

Hello there!

I'm a twenty-something PhD student from Spain, though currently working in Germany. As a child I used to get a couple disposable cameras for each school trip, but then smartphones came and more or less everything I wanted to mindlessly snap was covered with terrible terrible technique. Composition? What's that, can you eat it?.

Then, I met my girlfriend, who is very much into photography (and considering she has amazing eye, it's great to have someone to look up ), like... half her colleagues, actually, and I started getting interested. It got to the point where I was trekking the Grand Canyon, Bryce and Zion in the US, driving two photographers and having a... Moto G4. Yay. I started asking her questions about the cameras and how she came up with compositions, how she edited, etc. She offered to lend me her 5D and told me to use the 50mm 1.8 lens, since "This way you have to think and move around to frame". I went around the city snapping stuff; 99% of the pictures said nothing, but I had so much *fun*.

Ah, crap. Well, here comes a hobby; in the end I pondered for a while on whether I wanted to buy a camera (after all, it is a relatively expensive hobby), and started doing my homework, checking Ebay for prices, DPReview (I'm sorry) and Ken Rockwell (I'm VERY sorry) for reviews, reading a lot of "best cameras for X" lists, etc.

Somehow, however, after finding these forums' user review section I decided that I wanted... a Pentax. Because of three reasons: weather sealing and solid construction (I come from what amounts to Spanish Scotland, I'm conditioned to be skeptical of any and all clouds), they all looked very comfortable, and the cost of assembling a solid, if manual focus*, system was dirt cheap.