Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
10-08-2019, 11:28 AM - 1 Like   #1

Hello.

Hi, I thought I would introduce myself. I am Jim currently on the Isle of Wight. At the age of 59 I am in my second year of study for my extended BTEC level three in photography and will be going on to university next year to do my BA (Hons) I have plans to follow this up with my masters!

I returned to photography after a forty year gap. A couple of heart attacks saw me buy a Canon EOS1300D with two kit lenses. I got on well with it but applied to the Isle of Wight College to further my knowledge and ability. I quickly bought a Canon EOS 7Dmk11, a sigma 150-600, tripods, gimbal, speedlite, frames, backdrops, lights....

In the second term of the first year I was reacquainted with film photography. A local seller was selling a Zenit TTL, which came with a Pentacon f2.8 25 - 70 and a Sigma 80 - 200, which has had fungus. It had been cleaned but still has some marks, but it gives an interesting effect. I picked up another Zenit, this time an EM in mint condition. This came in it's original case with a Helios 44-2 and a Pentacon 4/200, both in excellent condition.

And then...I have just bought a lovely condition Asahi Pentax Spotmatic F. This came in its original leather case and with a Takumar SMC 50mm lens, it really was very cheap, I also grabbed a bargain price Takumar F3.5 35mm. I got an adapter ring so I can mount the lenses on my canons, I get very interesting results with the vintage lenses on a digital body.

I have sent the camera straight to Asahiphoto in Brentford for a strip, clean and service. I cannot wait to get it back and start to use it. The Zenits are great, built like tanks and are brilliant for what they are, but I really look forward to trying the Spotmatic.