Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-20-2020, 06:00 AM - 5 Likes   #1

First thread and intro from Bill Bellows

In the early 1960's I was a technical artist for a manufacturer of photographic processing equipment. Working in this environment how could I not get interested in photography. One of my fellow employees had extensive experience, and of course I learned much from him. My first camera was a Minolta Minister rangefinder, and shortly thereafter a basic non-metered Asahi Pentax SLR. The real treat was my brother in Japan sending me an entire system of three lenses, a bellow extension, and a Pentax (Honeywell) Spotmatic.

My next position was with Control Data Corp. in Minneapolis, MN. The primary focus was large main super computers. CDC was also a leader in peripherals particularly disk storage and head technology. The title of my department was Technical publications. My responsibilities varied from senior technical illustrator, to graphic design, to photographer. And the big bonus here was we had a photo lab and a large graphic arts camera which occupied two rooms.

After a few positions here and there with other technology companies my last was with a Rockwell subsidiary near Minneapolis. Not a lot of photography here, but I thought this was my dream job. All of the experiences and skills I learned over the last 40 years came into play. Interestingly though, not much photography.

After retiring from career positions I took a job at an independent senior living facility. My title was Maintenance Technician and responsible for refurbishment. I coordinated with plumbers, painters, and carpet layers. I learned to enjoy re-caulking counter tops. I made it an art form. Ya, not a great amount of photo ops here either. I left after 10 years at about age 65 and in great.