Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 7 Likes Search this Thread
08-20-2020, 08:09 PM - 7 Likes   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I Bought a Pentax KP this Week

Just thought I'd say hi.

I just ordered a KP but it's not here just yet. I decided to start out with it in sort of a minimalist way using one lens: the 16-85mm.

I'm a long time photographer. Mostly interested in fine art black and white sorts of things. I actually own a lot of Nikon equipment with the main camera being a D850. I have probably 100 cameras or so including medium and large format as well.

I've been reading a lot about Pentax DSLRs though. The thing about the KP I like is it reminds a me a lot of a film camera. I like the knobs and the wide range of customization features. I honestly think this KP may turn out to be the camera I use the most. Nikon has some decent APS-C cameras and stuff but I guess there's just something about the Pentax KP that i wanted to own one. Part of that is I respect the decision to buck the trend and develop the DSLR model and further refine it. I've tried mirrorless but opted to stick with DSLRs for the time being.

I also picked up some Pentax 35mm cameras too though. I work part time for Goodwill and I picked up a K1000 and a Spotmatic F. I haven't gotten to shoot too much with them yet either but I will be. I bought 50 rolls of 35mm film not that long ago.

I have a hunch I'll be shooting Pentax a fair amount so I figured I'd join the forum.

I was going to share an image I shot with a Nikon but I think I'll wait and share some I make with the KP.

08-20-2020, 08:15 PM   #2
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
welcome to the forums

you will find friendly members and knowledge here

Pentax Film SLR Databases and Resources - PentaxForums.com
08-20-2020, 08:18 PM   #3
Closed Account

Photos: Gallery
Hi from Australia.
08-20-2020, 11:04 PM   #4
Forum Member

Welcome aboard from Melbourne, Australia.