Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
11-11-2020, 07:33 PM   #1

Lightroom

How does everyone like Lightroom?? Anything better of free to use on the Internet?

11-11-2020, 08:00 PM   #2
Veteran Member

I do. I’m using version 6. Pre-online
11-11-2020, 08:17 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Free? I've been using darktable since 2016. It's awesome, but doesn't come with an advanced DAM module like Lightroom.
11-11-2020, 08:38 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I like LR just fine, I use the Classic version, but have the other version on ipad and iphone. Photoshop is also included and that's very nice to have. I've been abler to get it free for being an Adobe Stock contributor, but who knows if that will last.

11-11-2020, 08:44 PM   #5
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

Yeah, I love it. I subscribe and get both it and Photoshop.
11-11-2020, 10:54 PM - 1 Like   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Lightroom for many years. Subscription for it and Photoshop.

There are a number of 'free' programs that will substitute. But none I am aware of that do everything. Darktable might be the closest, though I've never used it. Many people seem to think it works well.
11-11-2020, 11:22 PM   #7
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I’ve used Lr and Ps for some years. It was very nice till the subscription part. I’ve been using Darktable and Rawtherapee. Nice results, free software, the first is very similar to Lr, gets the job done if you get to know it. I still have a long way but I can get pretty much what I want already.

11-12-2020, 04:22 AM - 1 Like   #8
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I use the last stand alone version -- version 6. The fact that Pentax cameras shoot DNG files makes it pretty easy to process them, even if they are no longer supported. I just hate the subscription model from a hobby standpoint.