Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-20-2020, 01:15 PM - 2 Likes   #1

Hello all - I am a total neophyte to photography

Hello All,

Thank you for letting me join this forum. I am very much an absolute beginner when it come to photography. I hope to learn a lot here, and after I learn a little here I hope I can help others a little too.

My camera is a Pentax K-1000. I inherited it from my mom about 15 years ago but it has only been in the past few months that I have begun to take photos with it. I went to a camera repair shop to ask questions about it, and it seems it has the original budget lens with it. SMC Pentax-A 1:2 50mm. That was very much my mom's style - she was born in 1933 and came from a generation that was all about prudence and saving.

I'm really not to sure what else to say. I just thought I should say "hi" and let everyone know what kind of equipment I use a a little history.

Oh, I do have one question for the forum. I've done searches for my camera, a Pentax K-1000, when doing searches on this site. But, I never get a return on a K-1000. Is that not it's actual name? Is there another name for it that I don't know about?

Thank you in advance!

Kintsugi Haikyo

11-20-2020, 01:18 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Kintsugi_Haikyo Quote
Oh, I do have one question for the forum. I've done searches for my camera, a Pentax K-1000, when doing searches on this site. But, I never get a return on a K-1000. Is that not it's actual name? Is there another name for it that I don't know about?
Indeed, there is no K-1000. There's the K1000 through:

Pentax K1000 - Pentax Manual Focus Film SLRs - Pentax Camera Reviews and Specifications

Hyphens didn't really start being used until the AF era, and now they're quite common on DSLRs.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)