Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 21 Likes Search this Thread
01-07-2021, 03:49 AM - 1 Like   #1

New 645z owner

Hi, my name is Stephen and I am a landscape photographer from Scotland who has a love of all things Pyrenees and Alps.

I've kind of always "wanted" a medium format digital camera for the dynamic range, resolution (I sell very large prints and sell commercial images for travel companys - mega pixels do count) as well as relish them on an 85k 8k screen.

Wex were doing 645z with £1800 so I bought 2 (always like a second body) with a new 28-45 and 45-85. It was a toss up between this and the Fuji GFX so my reasons for not going into that system. As a field of view this will cover 90% of my work.

1. I cannot get on with mirrorless cameras. As a working professional I need to be able to use my equipment without a seconds thought. I like big, solid feeling cameras. I find the EVF particularly loathesome about them. I wanted another SLR. Since Nikon (I came from D810) will kill the SLR after D850 I needed to move to a maker who actually still has faith in SLRs
2. I like SLRs'. They work for my photography - they are tactile and enjoyable to use. As a design they let in a lot less sensor dirt. This matters. Post production shouldn't be a game of spot the dust bunny but rather about getting your tone curve correct.
3. The Z has two tripod mounts - this will make switching between landscape and portrait orientation a doddle. This stuff actually matters. I like to take a portrait shot for magazine/book covers of which I have supplied through agencies.
4. Centre to edge sharpness is as important as front to back sharpness in landscape photography. I've yet to encounter any Nikon wide lens that really delivers in this areas. The 28-45 is completely uniform stopped down and the 45-85 is excellent all over too.