Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-09-2021, 06:18 PM   #1

Hello from Kelowna

Hello, my name is Kendra, and I just turned 59. I am returning to photography after a 7 year long break. The last camera I had was a Mamiya 645 Medium Format film camera: I loved using it, but it got a bit much to carry around. I am new to Pentax, and to digital photography. Pentax has been making cameras for a long time, and I hope they will continue to do so. I bought a mint Pentax K-50 camera with the two kit lenses last week. It seems like a pretty good little camera. I know mirrorless cameras are all the rage now, but for my needs and budget, the Pentax K-50 sits at the perfect entry point. It is not a full-frame camera, but it is not a micro 4/3rds either. The APS-C sensor size seem just right for my current needs.

I intend to buy one or two prime lenses for my K-50 later this year. Pentax seems to have quite a few good prime lens options, which will make my life a bit easier. I intend to keep the overall size and weight of my camera gear fairly light, as I have a bit of a back problem (old age creeping up on me). Once I am comfortable with the ins and outs of the digital workflow process, I will start posting images. For now, I will watch and learn.

I look forward to spending time here, and getting better acquainted with everyone.

04-09-2021, 06:53 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum, Kendra !
Looking forward to see your pictures.
04-09-2021, 08:50 PM   #3
Closed Account

Photos: Gallery
Hi Kendra, welcome from Australia.
04-09-2021, 08:56 PM   #4
Pentaxian

The K-50 is a capable machine and I really enjoyed mine. Welcome!

04-09-2021, 11:09 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Hello Kendra,