Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 15 Likes Search this Thread
04-19-2021, 02:30 PM   #1

Total Newb! SDM failed and lost interest : (

I am new to the forum but slightly lurked years ago. I decided to buy a DSLR before my son was born in 2014 and with a lot of research and help from this forum, I bought the Pentax K3 over a Canon or Nikon! I have/had some fixed lenses (35mm and 50mm) to start and before my daughter showed up in 2016, I bought a DA* 16-50mm lens. Unfortunately, soon after she was born, the SDM failed. I tried to repair it myself and that worked very briefly. The camera and the lens has been packed away for years now as it's just depressing to waste that much money on a lens that doesn't work. I've tried manual focus but it's also not fun and I'm not great at it. Again, how can something cost this much and be such a lemon? With a 3rd child coming in a month, I would love to get this converted to screwdrive before then. If this lens worked, I would probably be more inclined to use this camera so I can capture those moments in my kids' childhoods that I know I'll regret later if I don't! Anyway, thanks for having me and I'll probably be more involved once I get this thing fixed!

04-19-2021, 02:41 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the Forums.

The DA*16-50 is a very versatile optic, but is plagued by an unreliable first generation ultrasonic autofocus motor. It is worth getting repaired, either with SDM replacement or by converting to screw drive. The latter approach can be done at home if you have an older body and some computer literacy - check out THIS THREAD - or if you live in the USA you can send it off to @UncleVanya who can do it for you for a nominal fee.

Good luck!
04-19-2021, 02:42 PM - 1 Like   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster