Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 16 Likes Search this Thread
06-02-2021, 08:57 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
New Pentax owner in NE Illinois

Hello folks,
This is my first Pentax. I started off with 110 film camera of unknown brand in the 80's (we didn't have much money, certainly weren't going to give a 35 mm to a kid). I tried a free 35 mm film camera for a bit, but it was completely unreliable. When I got my first real job, then I got a Canon AE-1 (manual focus). I used that for many years. About that time I got into video camcorders and that was my main focus for awhile. Then a stint with a point-and-shoot or two, then a mirrorless Nikon J1... I liked that camera because it was very compact but still could exchange lenses. With the standard lens, it would fit in a jacket pocket.

But I just needed some more features, I'm no professional, but I like taking nice outdoor shots and being able to control exposure and have access to manual focus. After some research the K70 really seemed to have what I needed, including weather resistance. I'm looking forward to getting to know the camera better, maybe even play with the astro setting, just to see what that does.

p.s. Bogwalker is also my geocaching username... not that I've been on there recently.

06-02-2021, 10:45 AM - 1 Like   #2

Welcome aboard from another NE Illinois Pentax user. Congrats on your new camera and many happy photos to come. Lots of subject material here in Chicagoland to work with.

I probably have a geocache user name out there somewhere too but haven’t done that in years.
06-02-2021, 11:19 AM - 1 Like   #3
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
welcome to the forums

you will find a lot of information and friendly members here

the K 70 is a nice camera

QuoteQuote:
Description: