Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
07-29-2021, 02:07 PM - 1 Like   #1

Pentax-A 645 lenses for Fujifilm GFX 50R

Hi everyone.

By way of an introduction, I'm a keen amateur photographer of many decades. I've used various Fujifilm X cameras (since original X100 in 2011) and I'm currently Secretary of Otley Camera Club (Yorkshire). Earlier this year, I bought a Fujifilm GFX 50R, with which I used a few Voigtlander lenses. But shallow DoF and some vignetting has proved troublesome. Fujinon GFX lenses are reputedly excellent - but expensive and some have been on back-order now for over 6 months.

I had to look for a better solution. Now, the medium format 50R is best described as ponderous (especially in AF mode) but produces excellent images (in the right hands). It turns out (I've found) that Pentax-A 645 lenses are a great match for this camera. With 1 caveat - you'll probably know that the aperture control ring doesn't directly control the aperture opening - merely limits the opening via the camera's own control lever. Therefore, an adapter for the 645 to GFX requires a mechanical aperture control itself. I've found one in the Fotodiox Pro P645 to GFX. Not cheap, but a perfect fit and easy to use.

Over the past month I've purchased (eBay) these A 645 lenses:- 35mm f3.5; 45mm f2.8; and 120mm Macro. They're all in excellent condition and have finger-light focus control. They are - in my opinion - a perfect match for the GFX 50R (if you like full manual control, as I do). I already have a favourite - the 35mm (28mm equiv FF) is an excellent all-rounder and produces stellar resolution & colours. Moreover, post processing (I use Capture One) allows massive latitude in colour balance; brightness and tonality, compared to anything I've previously experienced.