Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-03-2021, 07:45 PM   #1

New Forum Member in SoCal

Hi All,

New forum member from SoCal here. Great site! I can't believe I didn't become aware of this site until recently and although I lurked for awhile, I just joined. I'm a dedicated amateur/hobbyist that has a long history with Pentax ever since my Dad first let me use his Asahi (bought in Japan) Pentax Spotmatic when I was just a young teen (which I still have). I made the jump to the bayonet mounts with (and also still have my) ME-Supers, first one then a second to have two lenses available at a moments notice, that I loved. When I went digital, I always was a little disappointed in APS-C thinking full frame would become more affordable and arrive more quickly than it has. So, I bided my time, and again with a K-m and then with a K-S1 with a modest set of lenses across them both. I make no claim to artistry (it's aspirational but my reach exceeds my grasp) but I enjoy the hobby and it provides me joy on the odd occasion when the odd snapshot achieves some level of artfulness.

I'm glad to join this great site. Let me combine my introduction with a question. I think I might be ready for another dive into the camera pool and I think I'd like to finally go beyond APS-C. However, the K1 was introduced in Feb. 2016. The K1-II in Feb. 2018, almost exactly 2 years later. By rights, the K1-III should have been introduced in Feb. 2020. Isn't the K1-II getting a little long in the tooth? I figured by now, I should be shopping either a discounted/discontinued K1-II against a K1-III. Anyone have any thoughts on the possible next gen full frame Pentax?