Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-05-2021, 09:50 AM   #1

Hello from Spain!

I am 75 years old and I live near Pamplona, ​​Navarra, Spain.
First of all, excuse my bad english.
I started taking and developing photos at age 12, with a borrowed Kodak Tourist 6x9 that could take up to 8 photos on each roll of film.
At 16 years old (1962) they left me a great little camera, a Retina IIa, with a Xenon 50 / 2.0, with Compur shutter from 1 to 1/500 and rangefinder.
Shortly after, thanks to the Photographic Group (AFCN), in Pamplona, ​​I learned how to use the new TriX film, and I got to know the first Japanese cameras. There I bought, (used, I was a student) my first SLR, an Asahi Pentax SV and later a Weston Master IV meter with its invercone.
After a few years I acquired an Spotmatic, more comfortable to use, although the SV was always my favorite, along with the Weston meter.
I practically always took the photos in B / W, developing them at home, although I was fascinated by the color and saturation of the slides of the primitive Kodachome I.
When digital arrived I was starting to get fed up with chemical baths on the one hand, and on the other with carrying a bag with various objectives. So I switched to digital, but more as a practical way to record images convenient for my work, or for simple family reminders, forgetting the "artistic" part of the matter a bit. In 2007 I started using a K100D, with which I could use my K lenses and even the veteran Takumar of Asahi, but almost always out of laziness I ended up leaving it at home and carrying a compact digital (Olympus Stylus 1).