Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-03-2008, 11:42 AM   #1

New to digital SLR

Hello all,

For the past 20 years+ I've been a Pentax 35mm SLR amateur. The only digital experience I've had is with a basic p+s.

Over the last couple years I've found myself exclusively taking pictures digitally. Digital is so much more flexible and hands on, I find. The 35mm equiment has been gathering dust.

Recently my p+s started acting up and I questioned it's reliability. Since digital is what I'm using mostly now I decided to trade up my 35mm camera to a decent set up.

Not wanting to trade a good 35mm set up for an average digital one I decided, after some research, to replace my Pentax 35mm setup with a good Pentax digital SLR. In digital I wanted the same control I had with 35mm and picture quality. Pentax's consideration in allowing compatibility with all it's lenses sold me. I was able to keep a really good macro lense and even the old flash I was using with 35mm.

It was an investment I hadn't planned on but at the camera shop it made sense to go with a K20D body and 18mm-250mm all purpose lense. I know you get what you pay for.

So far I'm very happy with the K20D. Very good body and very good lense. I'm still reading the manuals to understand the camera and photo software in order to get the most out of the set up. I look forward to appreciating this camera like I did the 35mm.

12-03-2008, 12:25 PM   #2
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
Photos: Gallery
Welcome, enjoy the forum and your photography.
12-04-2008, 05:14 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Welcome!

Sounds like you had a similar journey to many photographers here. I look forward to seeing the product of 20+ years of photographic experience in a new medium! Well done.
12-04-2008, 05:44 AM   #4
Veteran Member