Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-22-2022, 11:08 AM   #1

I have been using Pentax to shoot adventures since 2011

Hey all,

I shoot adventure based video all over the world. Pentax has been great till the release of the k1 I have killed 3 bodys due to the seals in the articulating screen. I even did some DIY sealing of the screen in my last body by filling it with electric grade silicon, it lasted a bit longer but still died. Gon are the days of the k-5 where you could submerge it dry it over night and shoot the next day. I need hardware that keeps up with my lifestyle so I am moving to Sony. I don't expect sony to be much better in weather seals but all bells and whistles I have done without because pentax was so bombproof won me over sense pentax is no longer bomb proof.

I have been on the forum for a number of years not very active as YogaSlackers... unfortunately it seems my account was hacked and banned for spamming. I opened this one to offer my gear for sale here first. My gear has been used hard as evident by my post. Keep an eye out for my posting in the next few days.

Sam

01-22-2022, 12:27 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I'm fairly sure all of the Pentax bodies perform as intended in regards to the weather sealing. Perhaps some of them perform more 'above and beyond' the intended ratings than others. What's weird to me is that you would keep killing them one after another doing things above and beyond the intended design. Seems like you might have learned your lesson at some point! Good luck selling your abused gear.

"There's an old saying in Tennessee (I know it's in Texas- Probably in Tenessee) that says; fool me once, shame on- shame on you. Fool me- we can't get fooled again." -G. W. Bush
01-22-2022, 12:51 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery